Jason Barickman receives Illinois Electric Cooperatives’ Public Service Award

 At the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives’ annual meeting, held Thursday, July 26, State Senator Jason Barickman, R-53rd District, received the 2018 Illinois Electric Cooperatives’ Public Service Award. The award was made in recognition of Senator Barickman’s dedicated public service to all citizens of the state of Illinois and for outstanding contributions to the rural electrification program.

Senator Barickman has served in the Illinois Senate since 2013, and he serves as the Assistant Republican Leader. He previously represented the 105th District in the Illinois House of Representatives from 2011 to 2013.

“Senator Jason Barickman has been a friend to Eastern Illini Electric Cooperative for some time.” said Mike Wilson, vice president of member & community relations of Eastern Illini Electric. “He is always willing to work with us with on issues important to electric cooperatives, and he is a valued partner in our efforts to help improve the quality of life in rural east central Illinois.”

Eastern Illini Electric Cooperative is a member of Touchstone Energy — an alliance of 750 local, consumer-owned electric utilities around the country. Eastern Illini is a member-owned rural electric cooperative based in Paxton, Ill. that supplies electricity to approximately 13,500 meters over 4,500 miles of line in parts of Champaign, Douglas, Edgar, Ford, Iroquois, Livingston, McLean, Moultrie, Piatt and Vermilion. Eastern Illini is member driven and community focused providing connections to powerful solutions.